Product Management Tooling – plans to review

I would like to explore Product Management Tools.  For years I have been following – and lusting after – Requirements Management tools.  It was a great joy to finally get to use Jira as a step towards some tooling but it always felt like it was using a bug tracking tool as a weak attempt at Product and Requirements Management [er, because it is].

Jira has some great plug-ins available such as : https://marketplace.atlassian.com/plugins/com.bit.agile.bit-storymap   (not that I’ve tried any including it)

But then there are specific Product Management targeted tools out there, that themselves will integrate into downstream tools like Jira.

I am going to try Prod Pad (having been introduced to it through the Product Tank and meet-ups in London)

And I have already started to try Aha (introduced to me through a company I was looking at for a vacancy they had in their Product team).

First glance : having defined a Product Line, a Product and some Strategy elements (it includes a Business Model Canvas section such as I did previously), I then started to play with defining Releases and Features (to be sat within intended releases or parking lot).

Screengrab of first playing with Aha tool

I will play with it some more, with my Worked Example project, and will share more screens and thoughts in future posts.  Any questions or suggested things to try, please offer comments below or via Twitter

This entry was posted in Business Analysis, Tooling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment